• NISTO Key Elements

    Key Elements economy, environment and society

  • NISTO Pilot Projects

    Pilot Projects NISTO evaluates several pilot project in order to test the functionality of the toolkit. Read more about our pilot projects here.

  • NISTO Demonstration Projects

    Demonstration Projects The new toolkit will be retested again on demonstration projects in each partner region. Read more about the domsonstration projects here.

  • NISTO - The Toolkit

    The Toolkit Development of a New Integrated Evaluation Methodology for Smart Mobility Projects

NISTO - New Integrated Smart Transport Options

NISTO – New Integrated Smart Transport Options – ist ein internationales Kooperationsprojekt mit insgesamt 7 Partnerregionen aus den beteiligten Ländern Belgien, Großbritannien, Frankreich, Niederlande und Deutschland. Es wurde durch die Europäische Kommission im INTERREG IVB North-West Europe Programm mit insgesamt 2,98 Mio. € gefördert.


Das NISTO-Projekt entwickelte einen neuen und ganzheitlichen Bewertungsrahmen (toolkit) für eine optimierte und nachhaltige Mobilitätsplanung unter der Berücksichtigung der vier Aspekte: Nachhaltigkeit, Stakeholderpräferenz, gesellschaftliche Auswirkung und Erreichen politischer Ziele. Die Methodik wurde transnational bearbeitet und soll Planer im Verkehrssektor, Behörden, Forscher und NGO (Nichtregierungsorganisation) in ganz Europa bei ihrer Arbeit unterstützen.  Der nachsichtige Umgang mit finanziellen Ressourcen wird somit gefördert; vorab definierte Ziele werden erfüllt.

 

Das Projektkonsortium bestehend aus Unternehmen, Universitäten und kommunalen Gebietskörperschaften aus der Mobilitätsbranche, hat in der Vergangenheit bereits negative Erfahrungen mit der Beurteilung von bestehenden Projekten oder Konzepten in Bezug auf Richtlinien und Kriterien intelligenter Mobilität erfahren. Das neue NISTO-Toolkit soll aus diesem Grund eine Entscheidungshilfe dafür bieten, ganzheitliche Evaluationsansätze in der Mobilitätsplanung  zu etablieren. 

Das NISTO Toolkit

Was ist der NISTO Bewertungsrahmen?
Das NISTO-Toolkit bietet Planern im Verkehrssektor und (politischen) Entscheidungsträgern eine Methode, Mobilitätsprojekte unter den Aspekten Nachhaltigkeit, Stakeholderpräferenz, gesellschaftliche Auswirkung und Erreichen politischer Ziele, zu bewerten. Dabei verbindet das NISTO-Toolkit verschiedene Evaluierungstechniken wie die Multi-Kriterien-Analyse (Multi-Criteria-Analysis (MCA)), die vereinfachte Kosten-Nutzen-Analyse (Simpflified Cost-Benefit Analysis (SCBA)), die Multi-Akteur Multi-Kriterien Analyse (Multi-Actor Multi-Criteria Analysis (MAMCA)) und das Ziel-Monitoring in einem flexiblen Evaluierungsrahmen.

Der Evaluierungsprozess besteht aus einer Kombination von Kern- und optionalen Evaluierungskriterien mit ihren jeweiligen Indikatoren, welche sowohl das grundlegende Verständnis der drei Säulen der Nachhaltigkeit wie auch die jeweiligen lokalen Projektcharakteristika reflektieren. Eben diese Kriterien und ihre jeweiligen Indikatoren werden während des Evaluierungsprozesses dazu verwendet, die verschiedenen Implementierungsalternativen zu bewerten, deren Durchführung zu überprüfen und die Ergebnisse zu evaluieren.

Wofür kann das NISTO Toolkit angewendet werden?
Das NISTO-Toolkit wurde für Planer im Verkehrssektor, Behörden, Forscher und NGO (Nichtregierungsorganisation) entwickelt, welche verschiedene Optionen, eine mobilitätsbezogene Problemstellung im urbanen oder regionalen Kontext zu lösen, evaluieren möchten. Besonders eignet sich eine Evaluierung der Alternativen zu einem frühen Projektstadium, wenn detailliertere Daten über die Auswirkungen der Implementierungen noch nicht vorhanden sind.


Vorgehensweise
Entsprechend der Projektcharakteristika werden zunächst die relevanten Stakeholder identifiziert, ebenso die Evaluierungskriterien und deren Indikatoren sowie die politischen Ziele. Danach werden anhand der Projekteigenschaften (Größe, Bewertungsziele, Verkehrsträger, involvierte Stakeholder, Projektdauer) ein oder mehrere Evaluierungswerkzeuge aus dem Toolkit ausgewählt. Anschließend werden die Daten der Ausgangssituation sowie zukünftige Situationen gesammelt oder geschätzt, um sie darauf in die Toolkit-Software zur Evaluierung einzubetten.

Abhängig davon, welches Evaluierungswerkzeug ausgewählt wurde, wird das Ergebnis für jede der Implementierungsalternativen entweder eine Punktzahl im Hinblick auf Nachhaltigkeit, Kosten-Nutzen-Verhältnis und Stakeholderpräferenzen angeben oder eine Einschätzung über das Potenzial der Zielerreichung liefern. Diese Informationen können Entscheidungsträgern zu einem Entschluss verhelfen, welcher sowohl den Aspekt der Nachhaltigkeit als auch die sozialen Kosten und Nutzen wie die Präferenzen der Stakeholder berücksichtigt.

www.nistotoolkit.eu

Die Projektpartner

Regionalmanagement Nordhessen
Cardiff University
Centro
NHTV Breda University of Applied Sciences
Mobiel 21
MOBI - Vrije Universiteit Brussel
Boulogne Développement
INTERREG IVB NWE

• NISTO Key Elements

    Key Elements economy, environment and society

  • NISTO Pilot Projects

    Pilot Projects NISTO evaluates several pilot project in order to test the functionality of the toolkit. Read more about our pilot projects here.

  • NISTO Demonstration Projects

    Demonstration Projects The new toolkit will be retested again on demonstration projects in each partner region. Read more about the domsonstration projects here.

  • NISTO - The Toolkit

    The Toolkit Development of a New Integrated Evaluation Methodology for Smart Mobility Projects

NISTO - New Integrated Smart Transport Options

NISTO – New Integrated Smart Transport Options – is a transnationally cooperative project consisting of seven partners (United Kingdom, Belgium, France, Netherlands, Germany) who were supported by the European commission in the INTERREG IVB North-West Europe program with 2,98 million €.


The NISTO project developed a new and smart toolkit to evaluate smart mobility concepts. Focusing on the integration of different transport modes it includes all initiatives which enhance the traffic flow. The NISTO partnership believes, that by giving attention to the three pillars of sustainability (economy, environment, society), mobility projects will more successful and sustainable. The NISTO Toolkit helps to avoid decisions leading to waste financial resources, do not fulfil the original objectives or are not used by the target group.

The NISTO partners, mainly companies, universities and the local authorities from the mobility sector have already experienced certain issues with the evaluation of existing projects or concepts concerning the guidelines and criteria of intelligent mobility. For the first time, this project developed a toolkit, which can be used accross Northwest Europe to plan mobility in a sustainable and intelligent way

The NISTO Toolkit

The mission of NISTO is to create an evaluation framework for sustainable planning, which helps transport planners, authorities, researchers and non-governmental organisations to avoid decisions leading to a waste of financial resources as well as to fulfill determined targets. Uniquely the NISTO approach integrates the three pillars of sustainability: Economy, Environment and Society as equal evaluation criteria
 
What is the NISTO evaluation framework?
The NISTO evaluation toolkit is an easy-to-use set of tools for practitioners to appraise small-scale mobility projects in term of their sustainability, stakeholder preferences, societal impact and achievement of policy targets. It is particularly suited for the early assessment of alternatives when detailed data about the impacts of the interventions is not yet available.

The evaluation process is supported by a set of core and optional evaluation criteria and indicators that reflect the general understanding of the three pillars of sustainability as well as local project characteristics. These criteria and the related indicators are used throughout the evaluation process to appraise project options, monitor implementation and evaluate the outcomes.

The NISTO framework is based on extensive research and consultation with stakeholders.

The framework offers three evaluation tools:

  • assessment of sustainability by Multi-Criteria Analysis (MCA),
  • assessment of stakeholder preferences by Multi-Actor Multi-Criteria Analysis (MAMCA)
  • assessment of policy success by target monitoring.

What can the NISTO toolkit be used for?
The NISTO toolkit is designed for transport planners, local and regional authorities, researchers and non-governmental organisations that want to appraise different options to solve a mobility-related problem in the urban or rural context.

Approach
At a first stage the relevant stakeholders are selected, the evaluation criteria, corresponding indicators and the policy targets to be achieved are identified based on the characteristics of the project. Following the first step, one or more of the evaluation tools are selected from the toolkit based on the attributes of the project (size, objectives of the evaluation, transport modes affected, stakeholders involved, project lifespan). After that data needs to be collected or estimated for the baseline as well as the future situations and it is entered into the toolkit software for evaluation.

Results
The output of the evaluation provides a score of sustainability of each project option, preference scores for stakeholders or an assessment of the potential achievement of the targets depending on the evaluation tool used.

The result of this approach will support decision-makers in taking an informed decision, which considers sustainability, social costs and benefits as well as stakeholder preferences.

 

www.nistotoolkit.eu/

The Partnership